Said The Heart’s All Over The World Tonight

16 Feb

So tell me, how did you spend your Valentine’s Day? 🙂

Valentine’s day to me is such a “diverse” occasion.  It is when happy couples celebrate their love by going out on dates and making restaurants rich.  It is when people in love buy flowers, chocolates, gifts, and make business for Hallmark.  It is also a day when self esteem of single women drop to the lowest point.  Moreover a day when single men suddenly get to write bitter songs about their exes.  Sometimes it can a day when married couples fight because the wife expects something from the husband who didn’t even remember what date it was.  So yeah, just like any normal day, it really depends on how you want to spend it. 

Being the romantic that I am (yes I’d like to think that), I would prefer to celebrate love and join the bandwagon.  There’s nothing wrong with being a little cheesy sometimes.  However, I’d like to draw the line please.  I don’t like giant teddy bears and bouquets made of Ferrero Rocher.  I don’t like hiked-up “special” dinners in fancy restaurants with free heart giveaways.  I don’t like strangers paid by my boyfriend serenading me in my house or in my office.  I like celebrating the day of love with simple yet sweet gestures that I will enjoy with my loved one.  Luckily, my fiance and I have the same taste.  He knows me well and he likes sweet simple things too.  YAY! 🙂

So here goes my Valentine date this year…

Since Tuesday is a workday, the fiance picked me up from work.  There was a pretty bouquet of red roses at the backseat for me.  Yay! 🙂  So we headed to Alabang – the chillest place in Manila I’d like to think.  I got in their home and greeted his parents who were still there but about to leave as well for their date.  Gabby our little munchkin brother told me to stay in the living room while they “prepare some things”.  Nosey me couldnt help it so I took a peek at the kitchen.  Saw that it has been invaded by a jedi.  Haha!  Then I was told to wait by the pool…

Lookie lookie!  The fiance had set-up a romantic candle-lit dinner table right beside the pool.  Aww… My heart melted already. 🙂  There were also floating candles on the pool itself. PRETTY.  I waited.  I heard sweet music starting to play and enjoyed the cool February breeze.

And then…DINNER IS SERVED.  I already knew beforehand that he was going to cook for me and I was overly excited!  Imagine, my adorable med student/almost doctor fiance who has never in his entire 25 years of existence stayed in the kitchen and cooked a single dish, now cooked a four-course meal for us!  Eeeeghh! He said he watched Jamie Oliver Youtube videos before gracing the kitchen haha cute. 🙂 I just couldn’t wait to try it. 

Here comes the fooooood!  Guess what he prepared…  Pumpkin soup, Chicken Ceasar Salad with Bacon, Steak Ala Paolo, and Vanilla Ice Cream with Nutella & Chocnut!  Good choice of menu for someone who hasn’t cooked ever in his life.  (Whispers: I guess doctors really like to challenge themselves haha)

 The moment of truth has arrived – tasting time. 

We were munching our food and all we could do is joke repeatedly “mmm…who knew” munch munch “mmm…who knew” munch munch. Haha!  WHO KNEW indeed.  Who knew that the inexperienced kitchen-oblivious fastfood-loving doctor can actually cook.  Everything tasted goooood.  I didn’t know what to say, really.  Everything was perfect.  🙂

I absolutely enjoyed my Valentine’s date this year.  I hope you all did too.  🙂 CHEERS TO LOVE! 

Abby Wasabi

One Response to “Said The Heart’s All Over The World Tonight”

  1. island traveler February 16, 2012 at 11:46 AM #

    Now that’s love and romance in their truest essence. I’m impressed with your hubby’s cooking …that is one labor of love. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

