Vieux Chalet Brunch

6 Jun

Can you belive I’ve never been to Antipolo?  Yep, that’s right.  Loser?  Maybe.  Haha!  Or I’m just such a South girl at heart- lived in the South, grew up in the South, still prefers the South.  The only time I got acquainted with the North was in college.  Ateneo de Manila was in the faraway land of Katipunan and I didn’t have a choice.  So to cut the story short, I was FINALLY able to go to Antipolo last Saturday!  (Clap clap) I’ve always wanted to try this restaurant in the area but I didn’t know how to get there.  Perhaps trusting my awesome gastronomic instincts, when I suggested this resto to my parents for their Wedding Anniversary, they automatically obliged.  YAY! 🙂

Antipolo is just about 45 minutes from Makati (it was a Saturday morning so that’s minus the weekday traffic).  I call it the “Tagaytay of the North” since it’s also uphill and had a cooler temperature.  Technically it’s already a province but not quite since it’s close to Manila.  I’m not sure if you should trust my geographical explanations here haha! Let’s just move on to the food talk shall we? 🙂

Let me begin by saying: YOU NEED A MAP.  We almost got lost while looking for the place.  Aside from it being unfamiliar territroy, it was really rather difficult to find.  It was inside the insides of zigazg roads inside a small village on a hill near a cliff.  Haha!  But seriously, you can’t find it unless you research.  Sadly, I can’t imagine driving here at night.  😦  No parking area too except along the narrow steep roads.

Upon entering the vintage-looking resto, their friendly staff immediately greeted us with a smile.  I liked that.  Cheerful and warm greetings in the morning is a good way to start a happy brunch. 🙂  The place was not that big but airy.  Nothing fancy.  Very homey.  Bohemain-rustic-ish.  We had the place to ourselves so that was awesome!  Usual snoopy me went looking around.  Saw several artworks and cute trinkets.  It seemed to be an old house that was made into a restaurant.

Our waiter Rob was very very acommodating! He actually reminded me of a cartoon characted hahaha!  We ordered…A LOT as usual.  We always order food for 6 even if we’re just a small family of four.  Guess you know where I got my appetite from! 🙂

For starters we ordered the Shrimp and Mango Salad, Roasted Pumpkin Soup, and Hot Chocolate.  All of them didn’t fail to make a good impression!

The salad came in generous serving and had really good dressing  (important for me since it contains the flavor).  It was like a combination of oriental and fruity garlicy light mayo.  It had lots of huge shrimps too so you get what you pay for.

Pumpkin Soup is an all time family favorite so we always order this when available.  I like Vieux Chalet’s version ‘cos it’s lighter (not that thick) yet very tasty.  It had roasted garlic and basil which enhanced the flavor. Mmm perfect for the drizzly cool weather.

CHO-CO-LATTEEEE.  Their hot chocolate is just pure bliss for chocolate lovers.  It’s basically a cup of warm pure Swiss cholocate melted in goodness.  It was very thick though so it could use a little more milk.

Now onto the star of the brunch… We ordered 2 platters of their special BRUNCH SETS.  The huge platter (each one is good for 2) had freshly baked wheat bread, eggs the way you want them, smoked ham, giant sausages, Swiss white cheese, buttercream, marmalade, and it came with fresh fruit juice of your choice.  The difference between the two sets is that the other one had additional bacon while the other one had additional smoked salmon.

Breakfast food will always have a special place in my heart and tummy!  I always enjoy eating breakfast/brunch so I may be quite biased. 🙂 Vieux Chalet’s brunch platter was filling, fresh, and delicious although I didn’t find anything extra special compared to other breakfast platters.  It was good enough but not great.  I still prefer Bag of Beans’ omelette and sausages from Earle’s or Santi’s.  Special mention to their ultra soft melts-in-your-mouth tasty smoked salmon by the way! 🙂

My family and I enjoyed our brunch at Vieux Chalet.  The overall dining experience was pleasing and it’s worth a try!  But for those saying that Vieux Chalet is “Antonio’s of the North”…NAH!  It’s a good restaurant but not at par with my #1 favorite – Antonio’s Tagaytay. 🙂

I’m thinking of coming back though one time for a dinner date to appreciate the view and ambiance.  Maybe their other dishes will make me like the resto even more.

 

 

Swiss Miss,
Abby Wasabi

One Response to “Vieux Chalet Brunch”

  1. Vida June 7, 2012 at 1:48 PM #

    Nah it’s not antonio’s for the north at all but it’s better appreciated at night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

