Just Got Hitched

18 Mar

I’m married. Wow. Still takes a bit of time to process that thought honestly. 🙂 But yeah, two months ago I married the man I loved for 9 years. ❤

I am still in awe at this beautiful gift of God to us – the gift of love, the gift of union in marriage. ❤ How great is our God for creating this wonderful sacrament for us to celebrate, to cherish!

To be totally frank, I don’t really know how to start writing this entry. Too much things come to my mind when you ask me about my wedding. Too much thoughts and too much emotions. But I guess the most evident of all is the feeling of gratitude. During my wedding preparations and on the wedding day itself, I have come to this realization of how immensely blessed I am. I am soooo sooo thankful for my loving and supportive fiancé husband who managed to help me out despite his very busy intern-doctor schedule, for my ever so supportive family – daddy and mommy (in-laws too), who helped me in all ways possible (help is actually an understated word for what they did), and my reliable suppliers who did not let me down. I have nothing but hands down praises for all of these important people who made my wedding a dream come true. *Bonus thanks to dear God of course for the beautiful weather and everything else that managed to go our way. He’s the best!*

Before getting married I had this notion that weddings are all about the love of the couple for each other. I thought it was the cheesiest day of a loving couple’s life and a culmination of their fairy tale love story. All of these are true, yes. It was the most kilig day of my life indeed!!! But I also realized it was more than that.

That day I realized that a wedding isn’t just about two people in love and their commitment to one another but in fact it’s an expression of how the couple is loved by God, their families, and their friends. It was truly about love, but more of an all-encompassing love, that breaches thru distance (we had guests from all over the country and all over the world) and thru time (we had childhood friends and those we haven’t seen for such a long time). It’s the unifying love of God’s community that embraces this man and woman to further encourage them to love another.

Here’s the thing: Our wedding was a destination wedding – our venues were hidden gems in the outskirts of Tagaytay on a Saturday of January when many people are still on vacation and it also coincided the weekend of Sinulog Festival. BUT THE CHURCH WAS FULL. I’ve never seen a wedding with so much people in the ceremony. Except of course if it’s a celebrity wedding or a politician’s. We had a big church which can fit 300 people and almost all pews were filled with our guests – people who love us and came all the way to be with us. My heart melted. 🙂

I could go on and on about all the beautiful details of my dream wedding from the prefect weather to the gorgeous flowers and great food but it might take so much of your time. Maybe in another post I can share all of these. Believe me I can be rave-y and it can get annoying haha! In the meantime, let me leave you with these beautiful words:

“To be grateful is to recognize the Love of God in everything He has given us – and He has given us everything. Every breath we draw us a gift of His love, every moment of existence is a grace, for it brings with it immense graces from Him. Gratitude therefore takes nothing for granted, is never unresponsive, is constantly awakening to new wonder and to praise of the goodness of God. For the grateful person knows that God is good, not by hearsay but by experience. And that is what makes all the difference.” -Thomas Merton

20130318-152616.jpg

Cheers to love!!!

Single Lady No More,

Abby Wasabi

Leave a Reply

