Gyu-Kaku

27 May

Konichiwa, friends! 🙂 So here’s something interesting – though I’m a Japanese food addict,  I never really became a fan of Yakiniku or Japanese BBQ. Kinda weird right? The “cook-your-BBQ-on-the-smokeless-grill-in-front-of-you-concept” just doesn’t appeal to me. Maybe because I’d rather cook in my kitchen and when I eat out it means I do not want to cook! 🙂 Also, the taste of Yakiniku doesn’t excite me that much. It’s just grilled meat for goodness sake, nothing special haha! Okay, sorry, enough pessimism.  I’d still end up eating Yakiniku one way or another anyway. Since people were raving about the the much-anticipated opening of Gyu-Kaku in Manila (Apparently it’s the world’s No. 1 Japanese BBQ Yakiniku brand), we decided to give it a try. 🙂

Gyu-Kaku is located at the W Center near Bonifacio Highstreet.  It’s right beside iHop. The resto is not that big, although it has two floors. I prefer the ground floor because of the high ceiling but unfortunately we were seated on the upper floor. I automatically disliked the table because I couldn’t stretch my legs. Space was cramped for six people. 😦

Now onto the food… well I can’t really say much about the food except – I LOVED THE WAGYU. That’s it. Apart from the Wagyu, there was nothing else special. The Bibimbap was decent but not great. The Assorted Mushrooms were so-so. Only the Wagyu beef made my dining experience delightful. Sorry for the Yakiniku fans out there but really, I don’t get it! 🙂

Ishiyaki Mentaiko Bibimbap

Ishiyaki Mentaiko Bibimbap

 

Wagyu (Raw)

Wagyu (Raw)

 

By the way, Wagyu being Wagyu, came with a somewhat hefty price tag so be prepared to shell out P1,750 for Wagyu ribeye, P1,850 for Wagyu Sirloin, and P2,350 for Wagyu Tenderloin. All 200 grams.

For Yakiniku lovers, I think you might enjoy it here so give it a try but for people like me, hmm I suggest we stick to our good old Little Tokyo restos/Sugi/Magetsu/Nihon Bashi Tei/et al. 🙂

 

 

 

Convince Me More Yakiniku,

♥ Abby Wasabi

Leave a Reply

